TwentyTwo Creative…my new hobby

“Ideas won’t keep; something must be done about them.”   lfred North Whitehead 

I have been absent from the blog-osphere for some time now!  This has been due to my decision to blindly open a business and try to make and sell stuff…so far so good!  I have learned so much from the process of obtaining a Resale Certificate to paying quarterly taxes to the state (didn’t figure that one out until I got the notice in the mail saying I was evading the IRS…woops!)

This all started when my friend showed me Society 6(Thank you Sarah Hayden).  An awesome place to upload artwork which could be featured on Iphone Cases, Framed Art Prints, T-shirts and much more.  When I started selling some stuff there I thought…hmm…maybe I could do this myself…kind of cut out the middle man?

So I was off. I decided to start with one product.  I have been told by many a business people that it is best to focus on one product until you actually know what you are doing.  So…I liked Iphones..I liked Iphone cases…so there I was starting to design IPhone cases!  After much research and cold calls to many companies, I landed a partnership with Case-mate.  I have a rep named Matt and an online portal which allows me to upload designs and fit them to specific products.

Its been a fun journey. I have officially been in business for a little over 2 months now and I have actually made some profit!  That is a good sign right?  Right now I am doing all my online selling through Etsy with the hopes to expand once I can get my feet on the ground!  I have some retail leads in locations through out Rhode Island.  Its all pretty exciting and an amazing learning experience…I think its better than going to Business School! (or at least it costs a whole lot less).

Needless to say I have been doing all of this while also working at my full time job which has left me little time for blogging!  But I am working on the time management which will hopefully leave me with some extra time each week to post a little something.  🙂

Here are some of the cases which I have recently released.  I was originally opened as ‘Elephant and Tweet’ but have since changed my business name  to ‘TwentyTwo Creative Graphic Boutique’. Check out my etsy shop @ twenty2creative.com, follow me on twitter @twenty2creative or like me on facebook @ TwentyTwo Creative.

Thanks for all the love from the people who havn’t told me that making phone cases is stupid.  And thanks to LC for telling me to put my computer down every once in a while 🙂

See you next week!

(Photos are links…click if you want more info and a place to buy!)

