Let there be Light!

“Thousands of candles can be lit from a sing candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened. Happiness never decreases by being shared.” | Guatama Siddharta-Founder of Buddism

I decided this holiday season that I wanted to make candles as gifts.  I myself know how much I love candles so I thought it would be awesome to learn how to make them.  It turned out it was very simple!  I went to my local craft store, bought the wax and wicks, bedazzled some Mason Jars and I was on my way! My candle making journey has been illustrated below.


The wick is glued to the bottom of the glass before the wax is poured in.  When the wax is poured the wick becomes very weak and it is difficult to keep it straight and centered.  It is important to make sure that the wick is centered while the wax is setting that way it will be in the correct location when the candle is finished!

There is a particular tool for this purpose but I did not have it. A plastic fork and a hair clip worked just fine for me!

I used Soy Wax for these candles making for a cloudier finished appearance.

 

Finished Product!

