Dumbarton Oaks

“Gardens are the result of a collaboration between art and nature.” | Penelope Hobhouse

When the average person hear’s “Washington DC”  places such as the Vietnam War Memorial, Washington Monument or the White House may come to mind.  For me I think of Dumbarton Oaks.  A Georgetown hillside estate garden completed by Beatrix Farrand in the early 20th century.  The property is segregated into many outdoor ‘rooms’, originally created for the owner’s Robert and Mildred Bliss.  The attention to detail and intimacy that each part of the garden contains is something of beauty.  I had the chance to visit the gardens for the second time in October when my boyfriend and I made a trip to Washington DC and I must say even in mid fall this place has such a natural romance, its amazing.

