my first apple

“stay hungry. stay foolish” | Steve Jobs

Let me start by saying that I am not an expert in computers, I have not spent the past 20 years of my life following Steve Jobs every move in the computer world, I do not own every apple product on the market, and I have spent some time hating the iPhone (since my droid has recently been actin-a-fool I have been rethinking this opinion).

Steve Jobs death really made me think.  It made me think about the impact that one person could have and subsequently the impact that he had on my introduction to the world of technology.

It just so happens that the first computer I ever owned (at age 7 so I guess technically ‘I’ didn’t own it…) was one of those large, clunky, take up the whole desk, apple computers.  You know-the ones that had the rainbow striped apple logo?

This was the only computer I knew, it was that weird off whitish-dirty manilla folder looking color.  I think the only thing I knew how to do on that computer was play solitaire…but I know when I did play solitaire I had a pretty good time.

Then when it came time to update we traded in for the next best model…which had some updated streamline curves, some nice clean white shiny plastic and this time a silver apple logo.

After that came something that I truly learned to appreciate.  It was the first flat panel model with a cd drive that was integrated into the monitor itself… this was cool.  This was also the time when AIM was the coolest thing on the block.  I spent hours on that computer, on AIM when I wasn’t supposed to be, playing SIMS (yes I was addicted to SIMS).  This was the first time that I developed a relationship with a computer, I literally would be banned from using it for days at a time because I was using it so much (2-3 hours a day was a lot at that time-makes the averages teen’s use of computers in 2011 look miniscule).  Whenever anyone came over my house I showed this thing off.  People wern’t mac-addicts at this point…so I was pretty unique having one of these babies in our home office.  I thought I was pretty cool.

THEN…the day that will be remembered forever….I got my very own Macbook.  It was 2006. I graduated highschool and was going to college, and I got a shiny new white Macbook.  I was like a kid in a candy shop (maybe an candy-apple shop? get it?) Needless to say, I was so  excited.

Well…that computer has lived until this day…6 years!  That  is 4 years longer than the average computer.  My old little 1GB of Ram, 50 GB Hard drive computer is still in my life.  I couldn’t let it go so I gave my baby to my Mom as a christmas present…who took all of the stickers that I had plastered on it off when I wasn’t home.   This was a little bit gut wrenching, those stickers represented 4 years of my life.  I was sad to see my baby macs white casing, something I had not seen in a very long time.

Sadly during winter semester of my senior year I had a major deadline…and I needed windows to run AutoCAD…and running parallels on a 1GB of Ram computer was not working…so I DID IT…I CROSSED TO THE DARK SIDE!! I bought a PC (I gave my mom the mac..because I am nice) and I have been suffering ever since then.  I have had that computer for less than 2 years…and it is in such bad condition that I am currently using my boyfriends computer while he attempts to patch mine up. Just to hold me over until I can afford the Macbook Pro of my dreams.

(I can’t even get into IPODS…my IPOD timeline would be a whole other post in itself.  Lets just say the only MP3 player I have ever owned is an Ipod and I have gone through many of them.)

The moral of this post, is that Steve Jobs has created something much more than a brand, much more than a computer, or MP3 player or phone or tablet…he has literally created a way of life.

When I made that transition to a PC I was so disappointed.  I hated that nothing looked the way I wanted it to, everything was complicated and unpolished.  All I wanted was my OS X back..even windows 7 could not compete with the seemingly effortless design of apples tool bar.

Jobs created an environment that valued design and that is why I ♥ apple.

He is my inspiration tonight-I will be happy only achieving a fraction of what he has in a few years, in my lifetime.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”
Steve Jobs | 2005 Stanford Commencement
Steve Jobs Through The YearsSteve Jobs Through The Years
